[ flag_de Deutsch / flag_uk English ]

About me ... This is me.

Welcome to my web site.

I am about 40 and live in Marburg (Germany), together with my wife, our son, two cats, and - sometimes - a few unlucky bats.


Since 2020, I am a staff scientist at GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research in the field of electron cooling. GSI/FAIR is an international particle accelerator facility with focus on fundamental research in physics.

Previously, from 2015 to 2020, I was working as accelerator physicist at the Marburg Ion-Beam Therapy Centre (MIT). At MIT tumor patients are treated using particle beams delivered by an ion synchrotron. It is one of the few facilities of this type world-wide.

Even earlier, from 2009 to 2015, I was a postdoctoral scientist at Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics. Already then, I mainly worked on electron cooling, using existing systems as well as developing new ones,

More professional details can be found in the navbar on the left.


Beyond my own field of research I follow publications on astronomy, zoology, evolution, and paleontology. Interested in practically every aspect of living nature, I am especially fascinated by hidden wonders like the civilisations of social insects.

I am very much into GNU/Linux and the world of free software that surrounds it today. This passion led - among other things - to the fact that this site is not served by a professional web hoster, but by a tiny home server maintained by myself and running on the free Unix operating system FreeBSD.

I do archery at the GSI in-house sports club, and enjoy running and cycling. My preferred way of spending my holidays is camping in the wilderness of Sweden.

Claude Krantz,
September 2020